An Old Poem – Without You Lord

DSC_0016

I love to write.  One of the things I would love to be able to write is poetry.  I know of great local writers who can compose marvellous poetical works and I stand in awe of them on a daily basis.  They are truly gifted, blessed, writers.  Some years ago I tried my hand at penning a little poem during a period of spiritual desolation.  Interestingly after composing this I felt a great deal better about myself.  I have been going through my old journals recently and decided I would upload this little poem.  While it is imperfect in its form, its words are as true for me today as they were when I wrote them some six years ago.  I hope someone enjoys this.

Without You Lord

Without you Lord, I am nothing

I am a boat at sea, with no wind

I am a boat at sea, with no course

I am a boat at sea, with no Captain

I am a boat without sea.

 

Without you Lord, I am nothing

I am a book with no end

I am a book with no beginning

I am a book with no reader

I am a book without pages.

 

Without you Lord I am nothing

I am a flower with no seed

I am a flower with no root

I am a flower with no beauty

I am a flower without sun.

 

Without you Lord I am nothing

I am a man without a hope

I am a man without a prayer

I am a man without love

I am no man.

 

But with you Lord I have my all

I am the beautiful boat running its course

I am the book whose end will bring joy

I am the flower with life from thee

I am the man with everything.

 

And to you Lord, I give thanks

I give praise

I give love

I give me.

 

Without you Lord I would be nothing

I am with you and have everything.

DSC_0013_2

2 Replies to “An Old Poem – Without You Lord”

Leave a Reply

